Windward Islands Expedition

In the Society Islands, the Windward Islands are composed of Tahiti, Moorea, Tetiaroa, Maiao and Mehetia. Last week, the team of Moorea Ocean Adventures left for a 3-day expedition to discover the marine fauna and underwater landscapes of Tetiaroa, Maiao and Tahiti (1 day / 1 island).

🐟 OBJECTIVE: to capture images of the coral reefs as well as the open ocean, to meet rare species and of course to fully live our passion for marine life.

🐟 We had the chance to explore preserved coral reefs, wrecks of planes and boats, and enjoy beautiful encounters with tropical pilot whales, Risso’s dolphins, dwarf sperm whales and many species of sharks. Here is our video, in two stages, first centered on the expedition and then on the animals encountered.

Located at 54 km from Moorea, Tetiaroa was our first destination. This atoll, once the vacation spot for Tahitian royalty, is one of the greatest nesting areas for sea birds and green sea turtles of Society Islands.

Located at 73 km from Moorea, Maiao was our second destination and is a small remote island of 8.8 km2 (3.4 sq mi). Due to its self-imposed reclusion, including the banning of foreigners and tourists, Maiao is often known as “the Forbidden Island”.

Tahiti, our third and last destination, is the largest island in the Windward group of French Polynesia. Economic, cultural and political centre of French Polynesia,Tahiti is also its most populous island and accounting for 68.7% of its total population.

Wach our video of the Windward Islands Expedition  here.

Moorea Ocean Adventures is glad to present you the best moments of the Windward Islands Expedition. Please watch it in Full HD !

  Related Posts